Booklove

Read about all the awesome books for readers of all type. For best selling, future classics go read the 'go join a fictional world' or you might like to head to 'feeding your taste buds'explore and have fun

Saturday, 17 February 2018

Crossed Fire (Book 2 Crossed Series) by Kim Baccellia

February 17, 2018

Selective focus
Crossed Fire (Book 2 Crossed Series) by Kim Baccellia
Published December 18th, 2017
Genre: YA/Paranormal/Fantasy
Stephanie Stewart is a typical sixteen-year-old girl—she loves hanging out with her friends, going to concerts, and sipping mocha lattes. Yup. Just your average teenager . . . Except for one difference—she can see and talk to the dead. In fact, Stephanie helps dead girls who who’ve been murdered or killed, cross over. Just as Stephanie is getting used to her unique “gift”, her mom stumbles into some dangerous witchcraft that backfires and triggers similar abilities in Stephanie’s best friend Cura, and nemesis Hillary.
Stephanie already has enough trouble trying to maintain a “normal” life between school and her cute boyfriend Dylan, who happens to have a supernatural talent all his own. But now she has to help her friend Cura and her “frenemy” Hillary cope with their new-found powers as well as cross over two murdered cheerleaders and battle an evil demon who wants to use Stephanie’s supernatural strengths as a free pass to The Other Side. And she needs to do it all while still getting her term papers in on time. She’s definitely going to need an extra-large mocha latte for this.

My review :-
Fresh,lovely and captivating.  I loved the characters, their witty humour and the engrossing plot. A 4 star read . I can't wait ti read more from the author.
About the Author:

Kim Baccellia has always been a sucker for the paranormal. She blames it on her families’ love for such things as having picnics at cemeteries, visiting psychics, and reading her mother’s copies of the daily horoscope. In middle school, Kim wrote a horoscope column for the school newspaper. It was a huge hit!
A member of RWA, Kim is currently putting the finishing touches on a YA multicultural thriller. She lives in Southern California with her husband and son.

Thursday, 15 February 2018

Hero by Boyd Taylor

February 15, 2018
hero-book-1_1_orig.jpg (792×1224)

Book Details:

Category:  Adult Fiction,  180 pages
Genre:   Political Suspense
Publisher:  Katherine Brown Press
Release date:  November 9, 2015
Tour dates: Jan 3 to Feb 28, 2017
Content Rating: PG-13 + M (Some slight cursing.)

Book Description:

When budding historian Donnie Ray Cuinn stumbles upon an old letter in the musty bowels of the Texas State Archives, he believes he has uncovered the true story of Sam Payne's valiant, or perhaps not so valiant, capture of Mexican leader Santa Anna during the Battle of San Jacinto. Cuinn's findings are published in a local magazine. But the article eventually becomes fodder in the gubernatorial race between Democratic upstart Bob Braeswood and Republican favorite Sam Eben Payne V, the great-great-grandson of the Texas hero. Braeswood is intent on exploiting the past, while Payne will do anything to suppress it. In the ensuing battle, Donnie finds his beliefs, not to mention his relationships, stretched to the limit in the first novel of the Donnie Ray Cuinn series.


My review :- 
Highly entertaining, fresh and imaginative.  I loved the unique writing style, the plot twists and the engaging and captivating suspense. Definitely recommended! 

The Shepherd's Calculus by C.S. Farrelly

February 15, 2018

36186901.jpg (308×475)


When journalist Peter Merrick is asked to write a eulogy for his mentor, Jesuit priest James Ingram, his biggest concern is doing right by the man. But when his routine research reveals disturbing ties to cases of abuse and clues to a shadowy deal that trades justice for power, everything he believed about his friend is called into question. With the US presidential election looming, incumbent Arthur Wyncott is quickly losing ground among religious voters. Meanwhile, Owen Feeney, head of the US Conference of Catholic Bishops, is facing nearly a billion dollars in payments to victims of sex abuse. When Feeney hits on a solution to both men’s problems, it seems the stars have aligned. That is until Ally Larkin—Wyncott’s brilliant campaign aide—starts to piece together the shocking details. As the election draws closer and the stakes get higher, each choice becomes a calculation: Your faith, or your church? Your principles, or your candidate? The person you most respect, or the truth that could destroy their legacy? When the line between right and wrong is blurred, how do you act, and whom do you save?

My review:- 
This book was a blast of mystery, intrigue and plot twists. A 4 star page turner read that I am sure youbwill enjoy. A really original and engrossing book that leaves you wanting for more,

Monday, 12 February 2018

Duplicity by Jane Haseldine

February 12, 2018

Running with Raven ( The Amazing Story of One Man, His Passion, and the Community He Inspired) by Laura Lee Huttenbach

February 12, 2018

Books I read in 2017 (part 3)

February 12, 2018

Always and Forever (An emotional page-turner about love and coming to terms with your past ) by Siân O'Gorman

February 12, 2018

cover109875-medium.png (255×391)
Description

A warm, witty, compelling and emotional novel about love, family and coming to terms with your past. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain. How can you find yourself again, when you can’t face what you’ve lost? Joanna Woulfe is looking to get her life back on track after her husband John leaves their family home. Once a high-flying PR Director, Jo now looks after her son Harry and seeks support only from her mother Marietta and her best friend Nicole. But Nicole’s own marriage is facing its greatest ever crisis, and Marietta, too, is distracted by the reappearance of an old flame, ex-Showband-singer and lothario Patrick Realta. Soon Jo enrols with a colourful local amateur dramatics group and begins a flirtation with the handsome young Ronan Forest. But is she really ready to move on from her old life – and from her years of marriage to John? And what was it that happened three years ago that sent the couple into free-fall? Before long Jo will realise that is only by looking back that she will ever truly be able to move forward..


     
 This book certainly breaks your expectations but it's a great read full of climaxes, plot twists ,intrigue and an amazing plot. The characters were deep,complex and realistic with a flowing narrative and engaging pacing. I loved it . A 4 star reas

Journey Across the Hidden Islands by Sarah Beth Durst

February 12, 2018

Books I read in 2017 (part 2)

February 12, 2018

Twisted luck by mia downing

February 12, 2018

If I run by Terry Blackstock

February 12, 2018

Sunday, 11 February 2018

5 Amazing books I read in 2017

February 11, 2018