Read about all the awesome books for readers of all type. For best selling, future classics go read the 'go join a fictional world' or you might like to head to 'feeding your taste buds'explore and have fun

Sunday, 22 April 2018

East of India by Erica Brown


East-of-India-by-Erica-Brown.jpg (262×350)
India, 1940. When Nadine learns that the Indian woman she thought her nanny is, in fact, her mother, she rebels against her English father and he arranges for Nadine to be wed to an Australian merchant many years older. She whisked off to his plantation in Malaya but as the Second World War rages throughout the East, Nadine is taken captive by the Japanese. She is held at a camp in Sumatra with other women and forced to provide sexual favours for the soldiers. In the most unlikely circumstances, Nadine finds an ally and protector in a Japanese-American general, caught up in the war. The two bond over the conflicted identities and gradually fall in love. But can Nadine survive long enough to find happiness?
Don't miss this emotional and powerful saga about a women's determination to beat the odds, perfect for fans of Renita D'Silva, Dinah Jefferies and Julia Gregson.
My review:-
A really emotional yet inspiring read that will force you to read till the end. Nadine's journey as she tries to find love and happiness is a heart touching,not to mention the bravery and courage she shows and takes everything that life throws at her at face value. I loved the characters and the complex and intriguing plot.The book does deal with dark topics that might make some readers uncomfortable but its a realistic account. Can't wait to read more from the author.

East-of-India-Blog-Tour-Banner-2.png (576×300)

No comments:

Post a comment